Licenses & Requirements

The City Clerk's Office issues a variety of licenses. 

Electrician's License Requirements 

Ordinance 1640 Chapter IV 4-301 to 4-306
  • Must have a Master Electrician or Journeyman Electrician Certificate Prometric, 1260 Energy Lane, St Paul, Minnesota 55108
  • Must post $2,000 Surety Bond with the City Clerk
  • Must provide public liability insurance $100,000.00 for bodily injury and $20,000.00 for loss, destruction or injury of any property
  • First year fee is $100.00 and renewals at $20.00 each year

Plumber's License Requirements 

Ordinance 1640 Chapter IV 4-501 to 4-506
  • Must have a Master Plumber or Journeyman Plumber Certificate Prometric, 1260 Energy Lane, St Paul, Minnesota 55108
  • Must post $2,000 Surety Bond with the City Clerk
  • Must provide public liability insurance $100,000.00 for bodily injury and $20,000.00 for loss, destruction or injury of any property
  • First year fee is $100.00 and renewals at $20.00 each year

Cereal Malt Beverage License 

Ordinance 1640 Chapter III 3-101 to 3-116
  • Must complete application
  • Must pay an annual fee (on premise consumption is $125.00 and packaged for carryout is $75.00)
  • Temporary CMB License is $50.00
  • Must be approved by the City Commission
  • Expiration is December 31st each year

Alcoholic Liquor Retailers 

Ordinance 1640 Chapter III 3-201 to 3-219
  • Must Provide KS State Liquor License
  • Must pay an annual $250.00 fee
  • City Licenses will run concurrent with the State Licenses

Alcoholic Liquor Sales for Consumption off premises 

Ordinance 1640 Chapter III 3-301 to 3-307
  • Provide KS State Liquor License
  • Pay an annual $200.00 fee
  • City Licenses will run concurrent with the State Licenses
  • Temporary License is $25.00

Solicitors and Peddlers Requirements 

Ordinance 1640 Chapter III 3-401 to 3-408
  • Must complete an Solicitor and Peddler Application           
  • Provide Photo ID
  • Application fee $25.00
  • Investigation of facts done by the Chief of Police not to exceed 5 days
  • Licenses are valid from January 1 - June 30 or from July 1 - December 31
  • Hours for soliciting are between 10am and 8pm

Arborist License Requirements 

Ordinance 1640 Chapter VI 6-712
  • Must complete an Arborist Application           
  • Must provide photo ID
  • Must provide public liability insurance $100,000.00 for bodily injury and $20,000.00 for loss, destruction or injury of any property
  • Must post $2,000 Surety Bond with the City Clerk 
  • Must pay $10.00 annual fee
  • License expires December 31st each year

Dogs/Cats/Domestic Animal License Requirements 

Ordinance 1640 Chapter II 2-201
  • Must be 6 months or older to get a license
  • Must provide Rabies Certificate
  • Fee is $10.00 unless spayed or neutered, then it is $5.00 per pet
  • License expires December 31 each year
  • $15.00 penalty per pet applies after the last business day in February

Utility Vehicle License Requirements 

Ordinance 1640, Chapter V, Article 2, Sections 5-206 thru 5-211
  • Must complete a UV Application   (copy of ordinance is attached to application)        
  • Must have a valid drivers license to operate UV
  • Provide proof of insurance on UV
  • UV must be inspected by the local police department
  • Permit fee $10.00 annually
  • Licenses expires December 31 each year
  • Display the UV permit (sticker) on the back of your UV on the right hand side at the bottom