Regular Meeting January 7, 2020 5:30 p.m.

The Board of City Commissioners of the City of Herington, Kansas met at City Hall at 5:30 p.m. on the above date – the following being present: Mayor David Jones, Commissioner Robbin Bell, Commissioner Curtis Hartman, Commissioner Debi Urbanek, Commissioner Eric Gares, Commissioner-Elect Vance Donahue II, City Attorney Brad Jantz, City Clerk Marcus Hawkes and Deputy Clerk Kathy Matkins.

The meeting opened with the Pledge of Allegiance. Vice-Mayor Bell Called the meeting to order. A motion was made by Commissioner Gares, seconded by Commissioner Urbanek to approve the minutes of the regular meeting December 17, 2019 and Special Meeting December 30, 2019. Motion carried with the addition of adding media to those present all voting "Aye."

A motion was made by Mayor Jones to adjourn Sine Die, seconded by Commissioner Gares. Motion carried all voting "Aye."

Commissioner-Elect Vance Donahue II was sworn in by City Clerk Marcus Hawkes replacing outgoing Mayor David Jones.

Vice-Mayor Bell called the meeting back to order.

A motion was made by Commissioner Bell to elect Commissioner Urbanek as Mayor, seconded by Commissioner Donahue. Motion carried all voting "Aye."

A motion was made by Mayor Urbanek to elect Commissioner Bell as Vice-Mayor, seconded by Commissioner Donahue. Motion carried all voting "Aye."

Former Mayor David Jones presented with Service Plaque.

There were no signees for Public Forum.

A motion was made by Mayor Urbanek, seconded by Commissioner Gares to approve the agenda with no additions. Motion carried all voting "Aye."

A motion was made by Commissioner Bell, seconded by Commissioner Gares to approve the Central National Bank and First National Bank of Hope as Official Depositories for the year 2020. Motion carried, all voting "Aye".

A motion was made by Commissioner Donahue, seconded by Commissioner Bell to approve The Herington Times as Official City Newspaper for the year 2020. Motion carried, all voting "Aye".

Discussion was had consenting to have a resolution next meeting regarding the trash service rate.

Discussion was had regarding increases to electric, water and sewer rates.

Discussion was had regarding residency requirements for city employees.

A motion was made by Mayor Urbanek, seconded by Commissioner Gares to recess into executive session to protect the privacy rights of persons being discussed, pursuant to the Non-Elected Personnel matters exception, K.S.A. 75-4319(b)(1). The meeting to resume at 6:20 PM including the governing body and the city attorney. Motion carried, all voting "Aye." Meeting resumed with no action taken.

A motion was made by Commissioner Gares, seconded by Commissioner Donahue to go into recess. The meeting to resume at 6:35 PM. Motion carried, all voting "Aye."

A motion was made by Mayor Urbanek, seconded by Commissioner Gares to recess into executive session to protect the privacy rights of persons being discussed, pursuant to the Non-Elected Personnel matters exception, K.S.A. 75-4319(b)(1). The meeting to resume at 6:45 PM including the governing body and the city attorney. Motion carried, all voting "Aye." Meeting resumed with no action taken.

A motion was made by Commissioner Bell, seconded by Commissioner Gares to add item 18A to accept the resignation of City Manager Matt Townsend. Motion carried, all voting "Aye."

A motion was made by Mayor Urbanek, seconded by Commissioner Hartman to accept the resignation of City Manager Matt Townsend. Motion carried, with Commissioner Donahue voting "Nay" and all others voting "Aye."

A motion was made by Mayor Urbanek, seconded by Commissioner Gares to have a Special Meeting January 13, 2020 in the court room at the community building to discuss matters related to non-elected personnel. Motion carried all voting "Aye."

A motion was made by Commissioner Hartman, seconded by Commissioner Gares to adjourn. Motion carried, all voting "Aye."

Also, present: Carl Urbanek, Janet Wade, Gloria Boomer, Cynthia Naylor, Scott Melcher, Brian Hornaday, Vance Donahue, Leslie Mayes, Ingrid Herwick, Catherine Stinnett, Gabriele Simmons, Tandi Reiff, Dan McDonald, Christina McDonald and J.R. Sparke-Herington Times.

Marcus Hawkes, City Clerk	