Regular Meeting December 17, 2019 5:30 p.m.

The Board of City Commissioners of the City of Herington, Kansas met at City Hall at 5:30 p.m. on the above date – the following being present: Mayor David Jones, Commissioner Robbin Bell, Commissioner Curtis Hartman, Commissioner Debi Urbanek, Commissioner Eric Gares, City Manager Matt Townsend, City Attorney Brad Jantz and City Clerk Marcus Hawkes.

The meeting opened with the Pledge of Allegiance. A motion was made by Commissioner Urbanek, seconded by Commissioner Bell to approve the minutes of the regular meetings December 3, 2019. Motion carried all voting "Aye."

There were no signees for Public Forum.

A motion was made by Commissioner Urbanek, seconded by Commissioner Hartman to approve the agenda with no additions. Motion carried all voting "Aye."

A motion was made by Commissioner Urbanek, seconded by Commissioner Bell to approve the Cereal Malt Beverage License renewal for consumption on the premises for Pizza Hut. Motion carried, all voting "Aye".

A motion was made by Commissioner Urbanek, seconded by Commissioner Hartman to approve the Cereal Malt Beverage License renewal for consumption on the premises for El Veracruz. Motion carried, all voting "Aye".

A motion was made by Commissioner Urbanek, seconded by Commissioner Hartman to approve the Cereal Malt Beverage License renewal for consumption on the premises for Uncle Bob's Bowling Center. Motion carried, all voting "Aye".

A motion was made by Commissioner Urbanek, seconded by Commissioner Bell to approve the Cereal Malt Beverage License renewal for package only for Ampride. Motion carried, all voting "Aye".

A motion was made by Commissioner Urbanek, seconded by Mayor Jones to approve the resignation letter of Glenn Bayes from the Hilltop Advisory Board. Motion carried, all voting "Aye".

A motion was made by Commissioner Urbanek, seconded by Commissioner Hartman to approve the resignation letter of Kristi Lovett from the CVB. Motion carried, all voting "Aye".

A motion was made by Commissioner Urbanek, seconded by Commissioner Gares to approve reappointment of one member, D.J. Neuberger, to the Zoning Board term to expire 10/24/2022. Motion carried, all voting "Aye".

A motion was made by Commissioner Urbanek, seconded by Commissioner Bell to approve appointment of one member, D.J. Neuberger, to the Tree Board term to expire 09/01/2022. Motion carried, all voting "Aye".

A motion was made by Commissioner Urbanek, seconded by Commissioner Bell to approve appointment of one member, Bob Bowles, to the Hilltop Advisory Board term to expire 03/20/2023. Motion carried, all voting "Aye".

A motion was made by Commissioner Urbanek, seconded by Commissioner Gares to approve appointment of one member, Savannah Porter, to the CVB term to expire 04/30/2022. Motion carried, all voting "Aye".

Mike Walsh of M & K Trash discussed the Dickinson County Transfer Station rate increase. He asked for a \$0.20 rate increase per resident. It was decided to be a discussion item for the first meeting in January.

Distressed property hearing was opened on 222 West Main. Joseph Kossmann discussed updates on the property. Code Inspector Scott Melcher added good progress had been made and suggested a six-month extension. A motion was made by Commissioner Urbanek, seconded by Commissioner Gares to give an extension until the second meeting of June to the distressed property hearing of 222 West Main. Motion carried, all voting "Aye".

A motion was made by Commissioner Urbanek, seconded by Commissioner Gares to table discussion of residential and commercial electric and water rate changes until the first meeting in January. Motion carried, all voting "Aye".

A discussion was had considering Chapter 1 section 3 of the City of Herington's Code of Ordinances.

The City Clerk, Marcus Hawkes, shared results from the Boards and Committees survey. It was recommended staff bring recommendations back to the Commission.

A motion was made by Commissioner Urbanek, seconded by Commissioner Hartman to adjourn. Motion carried, all voting "Aye."

Also, present: Carl Urbanek, Janet Wade, Gloria Boomer, Cynthia Naylor, Scott Melcher, Brian Hornaday, Vance Donahue II, D.J. Neuberger, Joe Kossmann, Margaret Kossmann and J.R. Sparke-Herington Times.

Marcus Hawkes, City Clerk